Journal

Growling Stomachs and Grumbling Lips

#Roadto30 Journal: Day 9 of 31

 

“How long will you refuse to keep my commandments?”

 

These words from the Bible echoed in my mind. So, how long will I continue to disobey? I am no different from the Israelites before. There was no single day that I have not displeased the Lord through my actions.

The wandering continues. That’s the life of the Israelites after they have escaped from the cruelty of Egyptians, out from slavery. In Exodus 16, people set out from Elim but were grumbling because of lack of food. Although the people grumbled against Moses and Aaron, Moses made it clear that their complaint is really against the Lord. At the beginning of the chapter, the Israelites even wished that they had died, a reflection that they have not understood who God is and how he is working to fulfill his promises. In Exodus 16:13-21, when God provided bread from heaven it met Israel’s physical needs and showed that their whole lives were to be sustained by the Lord and governed by his word. In these verses, it shows how people have disobeyed the Lord. It was a test of Faith and Obedience.

Here are some of the points based on why I grumble myself:

  • Grumbling almost never occurs whenever I experience pleasure but nearly always when I am in pain. I grumble because I do not like the pain or the discomfort of the situation I am in. I grumble because I think I should experience pleasure rather than pain.
  • I grumbled because of distorted perception. In most cases, I fail to perceive the loving hand of sovereign God in my sufferings.
  • Grumbling is a problem of submission. I grumble when I cannot control the situation. I choose to do other than what the Lord has commanded me to.
  • I grumble when I hear others grumble. It’s like a communicable disease.
  • I lack faith. Often times, I allow my present circumstances to nullify my confidence in God’s purposes and promises.

 

Heavenly Father, thank you for being my Bread of life. Thank you that despite my inequity, you continued to provide for my needs. Thank you for responding gently and graciously to my grumblings. Thank you for the lessons you have taught me especially the tough and bitter ones. Teach me how to submit to you and be grateful for whatever circumstances in life. Open my heart and so I will receive you. I have no other desire but to accomplish your will. Teach me to pray and obey. Amen.

Forever Grateful,

 

Charmaine

cropped-cropped-cropped-logo1.jpg

 

Leave a comment